Posted by: charlieinman | February 2, 2010

Gil Scott-Heron – I’m New Here – exclusive album preview

Where to start? So Richard Russel, boss of XL Records, tracked down Gil Scott-Heron at Rikers Island prison and ofered to produce a new LP for him. The Guardian have a sneak preview up online and I’m going to have a listen when I get home. I don’t want to do it here at work, where I’ll be distracted and won’t be able to give it the attention it deserves.

I have the fear a bit. I LOVE Gil Scott-Heron. I mean, he wrote “the revolution will not be televised” and “the bottle” and amazing lesser known tracks like this:

and, lyrically speaking, my favourite ever tune in the world:

even though Esther Phillips did it beter:

And I once had a pee on a fence next to him at Glastonbury festival, right after he’d just come off stage. And when I asked him if he didn’t have a hospitality area backstage and his own posh toilets, he shrugged and sad, “Yeah man, but I like to pee with the people”. What a guy! I just really hope it’s more in the Ibrahim Ferrer than the Stevie Wonder tradition of late albums from old geniuses. Have a listen here.


Responses

  1. Hi there,
    Great story about Glastonbury 🙂
    I’ve linked to your page in my post of Gil Scott-Heron- “Live at Glastonbury”
    All the best,
    Simon


Leave a comment

Categories