Posted by: charlieinman | June 24, 2014

Chassol – Indiamore

Screen Shot 2014-06-24 at 08.20.35

So we had our full length film about Gilles Peterson’s Sonzeira Project played at the Meltdown Festival last week, and just when I thought I was clever, on came Chassol to do his bit.

I have never received such a lesson in humility. He totally blew my mind. So many things I am interested in, musically, linguistically, filmically, culturally, all rolled into one perfect performance onstage, in front of a bespoke piece of film which both accompanied and was part of the music. It’s amazing. I went straight back home and bought it, and listening to it this morning before I go to work, it has lost none of its power.

Go and buy it at once. The video version. Or see him live if you can. I can’t recommend him any higher. It’s close to perfection.

Leave a Reply

Categories

