Posted by: charlieinman | August 4, 2013

Baile Charme

How the hell have I missed out on this for so long? My excellent friend Ben took me to my absolute favorite thing in the world ever last night. Baile Charme. It’s a kind of super happy brazilian 80s groove party in the street, where people all do this excellent synchronized dancing. I filmed a bit of it on my phone for you to see but I’m totally getting into this and digging for tunes. Some of the stuff they played last night was incredible. Brand New Heavies, some obscure Lisa Standsfield, loads of Brazilian shit I’d never heard before. Basically it was the happiest place I’ve ever been, reminded me a lot of the old “fun Bunch” soundsystem at Notting Hill Carnival, but with more organized dancing.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

