Posted by: charlieinman | October 23, 2009

Jacob Borshard – The Sinking of the Oruko Ship

Once again I have given in to my only vice and bought another print I don’t have any wall space for. This time it’s Jacob Borshard’s excellent picture of a medieval Japanese scene into which he’s jammed skeletor’s grinning nautical henchman. It’s an 8 color print, it measures 18×24″, it’s signed and numbered in an edition of 40, and it’s cheap as chips, well, cheap as about 30 portions of chips. Get one here.

“The Sinking of the Oruko Ship”

The Japanese text is a translation of that traditional poem, written by a lone and forgotten Orko author, thousands of years ago-

Mer-man rose from the murky depths,
He turned our ship over and ate it up,
The waves washed me to the rocks,
Where a shell diver found me,
And took me to her Grandfather’s hut.
I was ill for weeks,
She brought me hot green tea,
And seaweed soup,
With Urchins,
Fresh cut,
Plucked by her small ocean hands.
One day, she took me to the sea,
Where she unfurled her tail,
And swam away.
Whenever I hear of Mer-man attacking,
I think of her small ocean hands.
-unknown

Leave a Reply

Categories

