Posted by: charlieinman | July 16, 2009

Sitting back in physics and I’m looking at the clock, hearing BPMs for ticks, writing rhymes on table tops…

As a young boy I used to be so proud of where I came from. I’m not talking about the borough of Hammersmith and Fulham (although we can boast Mystro and Estelle), I mean the UK hip hop scene was amazing. The beats were great, the DJs were great, the rhymes were great, and nearly always about stuff I could relate to. Less “red pro-keds” and “collared greens” and more KP nuts and pints of bitter.

My absolute favourite back then was Braintax. What a don. Don’t get me wrong, I like a good ghetto rhymesmith as much as the next man, as long as the next man isn’t a massive DMX fan, but whatever happened to the TYs, the Braintaxes, the Blackaliciouses and the Pharcydes of the world. When did it become mandatory to take everything so bloody seriously.

A lot of rappers nowadays need to small up their chests a bit and put some smiling and humility back into their rhymes. I think this is probably a reaction to watching “Adulthood” the other day. Come on stabby kids. Every single day can’t really be all that shit, let’s hear about some of the good ones for a change. We didn’t get into this music to be miserable. We’re not goths for fucksakes! How about some optimism?

Leave a Reply

Categories

